Paulitics celebrates 500,000th hit

Yesterday evening while I wasn’t looking, the Paulitics blog got its 500,000th hit.

Exactly 2 years and 13 days ago, I started the Paulitics blog on the advice of my girlfriend at the time and that one decision has made a huge difference in my life.  The opportunity to grow as a person and to meet and organize and talk with some absolutely fantastic comrades from all over the world are just some of the things about blogging that I will keep with me forever.

In these last 2 years and 13 days, I’ve been threatened with legal action by the senior vice president of a major multinational corporation (something I’m still particularly proud of).

I’ve had a blog post carried by Reuters wire service.

And I’ve met some very interesting figures in Canadian politics such as Miguel Figueroa, the leader of the Communist Party of Canada (who in my opinion, FYI, is one of the best orators in federal politics for those of you who haven’t had the honour of hearing him speak) and Jim Harris, the former leader of the Green Party.

I don’t know if this blog has changed even one mind or influenced anything in the world as I set out to do in the beginning.  But I’m reminded of my favourite poem by Bonaro Overstreet and, with that it mind, I look forward to the next 500,000 hits.

Stubborn Ounces:
You say the little efforts that I make
will do no good; they never will prevail
to tip the hovering scale
where Justice hangs in the balance.
I don’t think
I ever thought they would.
But I am prejudiced beyond debate
in favour of my right to choose which side
shall feel the stubborn ounces of my weight.
-Bonaro W. Overstreet

~~~

Click to enlarge images

paulitics-feb-5-2007 ………………paulitics-feb-8-2008

Paulitics front page in February 2007                                    Paulitics front page in February 2008
.

paulitics-nov-30-2008Paulitics front page, December 2008

4 Responses to “Paulitics celebrates 500,000th hit”


  1. 1 Lina 3 December, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I have that poem up on my bulletin board at school. It never loses its power.

  2. 2 ian in hamburg 4 December, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Congratulations! And keep it up.

  3. 3 RPJ 6 December, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Congrats on the major milestone! It has been an interesting read over the past 2 years and between your articles and readers thoughtful posts, it has given me lots of food for thought.

  4. 4 Red Jenny 13 December, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Aww. I feel nostalgic for your old black site – even though this one is easier to read and a simpler design. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Resources:

home page polling resource

Click below to download the

Paulitics Blog Search

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.

DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the comments section beneath each post on this blog do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the blog's author and creator. Individual commentators on this blog accept full responsibility for any and all utterances.

Reddit

Progressive Bloggers

Blogging Canadians

Blogging Change

LeftNews.org

Paulitics Blog Stats

  • 831,118 hits since 20 November, 2006

